Weekly radio show

Cat Wilkinson at KCC LIVE

Cat Wilkinson at KCC LIVE

Post by Cat Wilkinson – 1st year PhD student
 
On Wednesday (22nd May) I start a weekly radio show on local station KCC LIVE. I will join Rob Tobin to present a three hour show every Wednesday from 10am – 1pm. I’m doing this as part of my PhD in Geographyat the University of Liverpool, researching how a community youth-led radio station can connect communities and create social capital in times of social, economic and political uncertainty.

My PhD is funded by the ESRC NWDTC and is a collaborative (CASE) studentship with KCC LIVE as my case partner and supervision in Geography at University of Liverpool and Manchester University. As part of the PhD I will spend a minimum of 12 months at the station. Getting involved in everything that they do – including broadcasting!

Myself and Rob covered KCC LIVE’s drive show in April, and we both really enjoyed it. The show was a great success and after receiving lots of positive feedback, we decided that we wanted to work together more often as co-presenters, and it just happened that the Wednesday morning slot became available at the right time.

I am very excited about having a show on KCC LIVE. My research involves participant observation at the station, and I believe there is no better way to achieve this than to fully immerse myself in the research setting. I have completed work experience at local newspapers before, so I have knowledge of the importance of community in such media settings and am looking forward to bringing my former knowledge to the field site of study.

Rob and I work really well together on and off air, and we have put a lot of effort into preparing a strong show. The station targets 10-24 year olds in Knowsley, so our show has to be suitable to the young listeners. We have plenty of ideas to work with, one thing you’ll be able to catch if you have a listen is “The Adventures of Catman and Robin”, Knowsley’s favourite superheroes! We’re not going to reveal too much though, you’ll have to tune in to find out more!

Rob, who is Assistant Programme Director at KCC LIVE, and also works at Radio City as a producer, says “I’m really looking forward to working with Cat on a weekly show. I do loads of radio stuff at KCC LIVE and elsewhere, but in the past I’ve only worked as a solo presenter, so working with a co-presenter is an exciting new prospect for me too. Cat’s on air ability when we covered drive was really impressive, especially considering she didn’t have any radio experience elsewhere. She’s great to work with as a co-presenter and I’m very optimistic about what we can achieve together as a duo. It will also be great first hand experience to help with her research!”

You can listen to Rob and Cat on KCC LIVE on 99.8FM in Knowsley and Liverpool or online at kcclive.com every Wednesday from 10am to 1pm starting 22nd May.

Leave a Reply

